Albums of ’09

8 12 2009

As things start to wind down, all the magazines are printing their lists of the year as not much else is happening. Last month you may remember I submitted my albums of the year for NME and Hot Press and as they’re now published I can post up what  I submitted (exciting, eh?). I haven’t seen Hot Press’ list yet, but I have seen NME’s and I think it’s quite similar so I’m on the same page as at least a few folk. Pick up this week’s copy as I’ve written some of the accompanying blurbs.

Anway-enough labbering-here’s my albums of the year (insert drum roll here)

Albums Of The Year (Edwin McFee)

1.      Gallows ‘Grey Britain’ (Warner Bros)

2.      Kasabian ‘West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum’ (RCA/Columbia)

3.      Yeah Yeah Yeahs ‘It’s Blitz!’ (Interscope)

4.      Therapy? ‘Crooked Timber’ (Demolition Records)

5.      The XX ‘XX’ (Young Turks)

6.      The Cribs ‘Ignore The Ignorant’ (Wichita)

7.      Morrissey ‘Years Of Refusal’ (Decca)

8.      Julian Plenti ‘Julian Plenti Is Skyscraper’ (Matador)

9.      Iron Maiden ‘Flight 666 Soundtrack’ (EMI)

10.    Lily Allen ‘It’s Not You, It’s Me’ (Regal)

11.    Amanda Blank ‘I Love You’ (Downtown Records)

12.    Karen O and the Kids ‘Where The Wild Things Are OST’ (DCG)

13.    Rancid ‘Let The Dominoes Fall’ (Hellcat)

14.    Spinnerette ‘Spinnerette’ (Anthem)

15.    Dananananaykroyd ‘Hey Everyone!’ (Best Before)

16.    Kill It Kid ‘Kill It Kid’ (One Little Indian)

17.    Paramore ‘Brand New Eyes’ (Fuelled By Ramen)

18.    Empire of the Sun ‘Walking On A Dream’ (EMI)

19.    Biffy Clyro ‘Only Revolutions’ (14th Floor)

20.   And So I Watch You From Afar ‘And So I Watch You From Afar’ (Smalltown America)

Kill It Kid-NME Review

14 10 2009

Earlier this summer NME asked me to head down to the Spring and Airbrake and review up and coming types Kill It Kid (who were tops). A few weeks ago I also handled the review of their debut and here’s a reprint.





In many ways Kill It Kid going all 19th century on their debut is quite endearing. With the charts currently full of females foisting future sounds onto the masses, this Bath-based five-piece are bucking the trend with glee, making music for the misfits and giving us delicious little murder ballads (‘Private Idaho’) that seem more suited to a forgotten era than the day-glo obsessed 21st century. What makes the bluegrass and ragtime rhythms work is their skill at crafting a song though. The surging ‘Burst Its Banks’ is full of drama, the boy/girl duets between Chris Turpin and Steph Ward are just the right side of sweet and the stabbing fiddles and honky tonk piano parts add just the right amount of spice. Impressive stuff. Edwin McFee

DOWNLOAD: ‘Private Idaho’