Wyldling Q and A

28 02 2012

Here’s a reprint of a Q and A with Derry natives Wyldling that ran in the Big List last month. I’m expecting big things from this lot.

Wyldling Q and A

We may only be a few weeks into 2012 but we’re already predicting big things for the year ahead. So, to celebrate what’s sure to be a stellar 12months, we thought we’d dedicate our Q and A section to 12 of the most exciting acts around right now and we can think of no-one better to kick-start it all than with the brand spanking new Derry-based act Wyldling. Enjoy.

 

Hi Jill and welcome to the Big List. First off, you debuted your brand new solo project Wyldling a few weeks ago. What has the response been like so far?

Jilly St John: “Yeah, it was officially launched on December 23, 2011 with the posting of the debut demos. The response from my perspective has been way more than I expected to receive and it’s been 100% positive so far.”

 

Big List readers will no doubt remember you used to front No Mean City. How does it feel being a solo act as opposed to being part of a group? Do you prefer it?

“The project does present itself currently as a solo act but there are other people involved on a collaborative level. I really hope that they can join me on stage when the time comes. It’s partly the reason I decided to use the name ‘Wyldling’ as opposed to putting myself out there as ‘Jilly St John’. It provides myself, and my collaborators, with flexibility in terms of the set up; whilst crediting all those involved as they can lend themselves to the umbrella. I’m always open to what proves to be the best option for my act. It also means that I can take Wyldling as far as I want to without also having the worry about a breaking down of a band.”

 

Have you always wanted to front your own project?

“I don’t think that would be entirely my thought. I have always wanted to front an act, be it my own or a group effort. I just love being on stage. I love the privilege of living outside my own boundaries and becoming that other side of me. I have been looking for a permanent band set up for some time now, but it became apparent to me that finding the right people with the same amount of dedication as myself was going to be more than tough and waiting was wasting valuable time, so I simply made the decision to go out and make it happen for myself.”

 

Musically speaking, can you describe where Wyldling are coming from?

“Wow! A toughie. Writing has been a definite journey for me-lyrically speaking the songs are very honest. I tend to write about stuff I feel I can’t say out loud. Musically there are no rules for me. Like most musicians, I listen to a lot of genres and I tend to take influence from all the bits I like in terms of sound and feel, then collaborate to make it work. It’s like a jigsaw, only I get to make my own pieces. I don’t like to be pigeonholed or to pigeon hole myself, so I’ll continue to grow and better myself, and continue to mix it up and evolve.”

 

Are you planning to put together a band?

“Absolutely! I’ll be needing one of those for my live shows in the near future. In fact, we hope to begin rehearsals in the next few weeks, then all will be revealed. Oooo, S’exciting!”

 

No Mean City gained a lot of headway by bagging slots at Download etc before the band broke up. Do you feel under pressure to repeat (and better) your previous successes?

“When NMC split, I very much felt the pressure. I didn’t (at that point) see it coming, and so I felt that all the hard work and the opportunities we gained were gone. That quickly gave way to an urgent need to make it all happen again. The pressure very much came from myself though. I didn’t want to let all the people down who had supported us so fully. I think initially the splitting of the band had affected my self-belief enormously. I questioned if I was good enough to make the grade, and wondered if it was the volatile dynamic of the NMC members together which had proven successful. Now, I just feel that no matter what, if I enjoy what I’m doing then others will too. That’s not to say I’m not gonna work my ass off to try and make it my career though. My sights are set high, as always, but we’ll just see what happens.”

 

Finally, what are your plans for 2012. Surely it won’t be too long before you’re back onstage?

“I hope to see myself back on top form in 2012. I’m hoping I will be back onstage for March at the latest, and between now and then perfecting the live show and writing. The live set up will involve a good bit more than the NMC set up, so there’s lots of work to do. I have a lot of personal goals set for Wyldling this year, but I’ll fill you in on those as and when they become fulfilled. I’ve got a feeling 2012 is the year I’ve been waiting my whole life for, and I’m gonna give it everything I’ve got.”

 

For more information on Wyldling check out www.facebook.com/WYLDLINGmusic

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

