Bye Bye 2011

30 12 2011

Sooo, it’s New Year’s Eve Eve here at Blogging A Dead Horse Central, so as ever it’s time to reprint my ‘Albums of the Year’ that I send out to the magazines I write for.

I have to say, 2011 has been a really fun and happy time. It mightn’t have been a vintage year for records, but it was definitely a lot of laughs and I think I’ll remember the hangover from the Revival Tour in Dublin for as long as I live (seriously,I was a VERY sorry sight down at the Odyssey reviewing Rihanna the next night).

It was great to squeeze a few press trips in, tick off a few more items on my career bucket list and while it was kinda strange going back to my old school to talk to the lads about journalism (what is it with teenagers not knowing what a fanzine is??!) -it was a cool experience.Plus I got to meet The Batman in London.No biggie.

Anyway, enough slabbering from me.I’d like to thank all the editors,writers,PRs,subs,bands etc that I’ve worked with this year and here’s hoping that 2012 is half as fun as 2011 was.Up the Irons.

 Albums Of 2011

1)      The Horrible Crowes ‘Elsie’

2)      Dum Dum Girls ‘Only In Dreams’

3)      Cerebral Ballzy-Cerebral Ballzy

4)      Warpaint ‘The Fool’ Deluxe Edition’

5)      Dropkick Murphys ‘Going Out In Style’

6)      Saviours ‘Death’s Procession’

7)      LaFaro ‘Easy Meat’

8)      The Dwarves ‘The Dwarves Are Born Again’

9)      Kitty, Daisy & Lewis ‘Smoking In Heaven’

10)    Anna Calvi ‘Anna Calvi’

11)    The Misfits ‘The Devil’s Rain’

12)    Tom Waits ‘Bad As Me’

13)    Handsome Furs ‘Sound Kapital’

14)    Drugstore ‘Anatomy’

15)    Ben Glover ‘Before The Birds’

16)    Mariachi El Bronx ‘II’

17)    Cashier No. 9 ‘To The Death Of Fun’

18)    Los Campesinos! ‘Hello Sadness’

19)    Css ‘La Liberacion’

20)    Beady Eye ‘Different Gear, Still Speeding’ 

 

 

Gigs Of 2011

Iron Maiden at the Odyssey, Belfast

The Revival Tour at the Academy, Dublin

Ke$ha at Oxegen

Lisa Germano at the Grand Social, Dublin 

Kasabian  at the Odyssey, Belfast

 

 

Aaaaand finally, here’s my Top 20 metal/punk/rock albums for Metal Hammer.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

