Choice Music Prize 2011

12 01 2011

This year’s Choice Music Prize nominees are out today. It’s a shame to see only one act from the North included in the the list (where the fuck is the LaFaro record?) but, depending on who ends up on the judging panel, I’d put a few pound/Euro (delete where appropriate) on the Imelda May record ‘Mayhem’ being the overall winner.

Here’s the press release…

Choice Music Prize – Irish Album of The Year 2010  Shortlist Announcement

The Choice Music Prize shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2010 was announced this afternoon (Wednesday 12 January).

The shortlist is as follows (artists listed in alphabetical order):
Adebesi ShankThis is the Second Album of a band called Adebisi Shank (Richter Collective)
The Cast of CheersChariot
Cathy DaveyThe Nameless (Hammer Toe Records)
Fight Like ApesThe Body of Christ & The Legs of Tina Turner (Model Citizen)
HalvesIt Goes, It Goes (Forever & Ever) (Hate is The Enemy)
Imelda MayMayhem (Universal)
James Vincent McMorrowEarly in The Morning (Universal)
O EmperorHither Thither (Universal)
Two Door Cinema ClubTourist History (Kitsune)
VillagersBecoming a Jackal (Domino)

The shortlist has been selected by a panel of 11 Irish music media professionals representing print, radio, online and TV. The full list of judges can be found on the Choice Music Prize website:

The winning Album of the Year will be selected by the judging panel at the Choice Music Prize Live Event at Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday March 3.
The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).
All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of the
Recorded Artists Actors & Performers Ltd (RAAP).
All of the shortlisted albums are available through retail partners HMV in their stores nationwide with the exception of The Cast Of Cheers album which is only available via download.
The Choice Music Prize live event will be broadcast live on Today FM in a special four hour extended programme during the Paul McLoone show.
Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event will go on sale from all Ticketmaster outlets and from on Friday January 14, priced
22 including booking fee.
Full information on the event and on the nominated artists performing will be announced later this month. Video packages of all the acts on the night will be produced by Irish production company Old Hat.
Paddy Power will, as usual, be offering betting odds on the event. Prices will be available on the afternoon of Wednesday 12 January.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: