Bye Bye 2010

31 12 2010

Pound for pound, 2010 has been a pretty decent year. I started writing for Metal Hammer (a magazine I used to always read in my not-so misspent youth) got my first cover for Hot Press, when on tour a few times, checked out some festivals, wrote the liner notes to an album, looked after some longer assignments for  NME and just when I thought I’d interviewed everyone I’ve ever wanted to speak to (bar Morrissey and Courtney of course), I flew out to America to talk to Jim Lee. Yes, the Jim Lee who drew the biggest selling comic book of all time (X-Men #1) that also kick-started my love for the medium when I was  a young fella.

On the other hand, it’s been a pretty unlucky 12 months too and everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. Numerous cancelled flights, missing money… you name it-it all happened this year and to top it all off we lost legends like Dio as well. So, from that perspective, I’ll be glad to see the back of 2010.

Still, “what doesn’t kill you” and all that and as it’s the last day of the year, I figured it made sense to post up my top 20 records of the year that I submitted to all the people I write for. It definitely wasn’t a vintage 12 months for tuneage, but there were a few corkers that made it all worthwhile.

Anyway, enough from me. I’m off to get thoroughly trousered. I think I deserve it.

 See you all next year.

Albums of 2010

1 The Gaslight Anthem-‘American Slang’

1 Iron Maiden ‘The Final Frontier’

3 The Smoking Hearts ‘Pride of Nowhere’

4 The Drums ‘The Drums’

5 Blaze Bayley ‘Promise & Terror’

6 Valient Thorr ‘Stranger’

7 Dan Sartain ‘Lives’

8 Timber Timbre ‘Timber Timbre’

9 Therapy? ‘We’re Here To The End’

10 Two Door Cinema Club-‘Tourist History’

11 The Sword ‘Warp Riders’

12 LaFaro ‘LaFaro’

13 Perfume Genius ‘Learning’

14 The Jim Jones Revue ‘Burning Your House Down’

15 Various Artists ‘Pledge: A Tribute To Kerbdog’

16 Trash Talk ‘Eyes & Nines’

17 Tired Pony ‘The Place We Ran From’

18 Gemma Ray ‘It’s A Shame About Gemma Ray’

19 General Fiasco ‘Buildings’

20 Dum Dum Girls ‘I Will Be’

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

