Thin Lizzy Recruit Ricky Warwick

14 05 2010

Last Thursday (May 6) I got a text from a local bass legend telling me the rather barmy news that former Almighty frontman Ricky Warwick is the new singer in Thin Lizzy. The next day an Irish promoter told me the same thing and that a tour’s all booked for 2011 and yes folks, it is all true. Joining Ricky is fellow NI alumni Vivian Campbell (yes, that Vivian who twatted Danzig and plays guitar for Def Leppard) and original Lizzy tub thumper Brian Downey is also back, so it would seem that Scott Gorham’s plan to carry on Phil Lynott’s legacy might just pay off as I reckon Warwick can definitely do justice to ‘Are You Ready?’ et al.

They’ve a UK tour booked for the New Year (with support from the Supersuckers), a date in Dublin’s 02 on Jan 4, and there’s mumblings of an Ulster Hall date in Belfast too, so remember where you read it first. In the meantime, here’s a photo of the new line-up that some wag has put online. Personally I think Ricky rocks the ‘fro rather well…

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 09 2010
Jean-Jacques

I am a Lizzy fan and I have always been. I am also very found of the Almighty and any band Ricky Warwick has played with. I do think that it is going to be very interesting to hear LIzzy again and I hope there will be a live recording of this new Thin LIzzy lineup. I am an inconditional Gary Moore fan and I do believe that Gary is a lot closer from Phil BUT Ricky rocks beyond belief so I am sure it is going to be great. I cannot wait!!!!

21 10 2010
edwinmcfee

I think it’ll be great just to hear all those amazing songs played live once more. R.I.P. Phil.

Leave a Reply

