Interview with the Luchagors

13 01 2010

I’ve been a wrestling fan since I was wee and I still keep up with what’s happening today. As the so-called Monday Night Wars between WWE and TNA are starting to heat up, I thought it’d be a good idea to reprint my interview with Amy “Lita” Dumas that I did for Hot Press during the summer. I’ve only ever interviewed one wrestler before (Chris Jericho) and he was a cock, so I wasn’t sure how she’d be. After receiving multiple messages from her on my voicemail (she kept ringing at the wrong time) I wasn’t sure if it was going to be a good interview, but she was very sweet and proved that not all wrestlers are arseholes.

Ready To Rumble

 Ex WWE star Amy Dumas tells Edwin McFee all about her band the Luchagors and why playing punk rock beats wrestling any day of the week.

Although it pains us to admit it-when Hot Press catches up with former WWE Women’s Champion Amy Dumas (AKA Lita) we’re a little scared. You see not only could she convincingly kick our ass, but her current guise as frontwoman for smash-mouth punk rock outfit the Luchagors sees the star scale new heights in intensity. Add that to the fact that when we talk to her she’s barely awake and you’ve got one slightly nervous situation.

 “Don’t worry dude, I haven’t beaten anyone up in a while,” she laughs, not exactly putting us at ease.  “These days I work out all of my frustrations when we perform punk shows.”

When the four time Women’s Champ retired from the squared circle in ’06, she wasted little time in forming the Luchagors in her hometown of Atlanta, Georgia. Their music calls to mind a glorious concoction of the Lunachicks, the Misfits, the Distillers and X and when we bring up the similarities Amy is admittedly flattered.

“I’m so glad you said that,” she smiles. “For me, being included in the same sentence as X is a huge thrill. Other people have said that we share that same intensity with them and it means a lot to me as they are a phenomenal band.”

At the moment the Luchagors are about to embark on their first ever Irish tour. Initially the band were due to play here earlier in the year, but after a drummer malfunction they had to postpone their inaugural visit.

 “Our old drummer Troy left earlier this year so we were in limbo for a while, but now we’ve got Racci [Shay Hart] on board and we’re better than ever. We can’t wait to get to Ireland and give you the craziest show you’ve ever seen.”

The Luchagors (their name is a play on the word Luchador, a Mexican wrestler, and the word gore which pays homage to their love of horror films) currently have a self titled debut on the shelves and it was produced by Skid Row bassist Rachel Bolan. According to Amy, the band never had a choice on the matter.

“I met Rachel in a bar one night and he demanded that he produce our record, so I guess we had no other option” she laughs. “I’ve been friends with Rachel for years and he made us feel really comfortable in the studio. We’re like a family in many ways, which I love because I never really had that when I was in the WWE. What some people don’t know is that whenever you travelling to different towns you have to rent a car and get yourself there. It can be very lonely.”

It seems as if Amy got out of the wrestling business when the going was good what with the deaths of the likes of Eddie Guerrero, Test, Owen Hart and the murder-suicide of Chris Benoit and his family painting a grim image of the business as a whole. While most of her peers find it hard to hang up the tights for good, it looks like she has managed to escape that vicious circle.

“It’s a hard life being a wrestler,” she remarks. “Some people develop addictions, some find it hard to cope with the isolation and most of us put our bodies through hell but I have to say I loved my time as a wrestler. I had a good run and I don’t regret a thing.”

Unlike some former grapplers, Amy is extremely open about talking about her alter ego and she tells us that if fans of Lita want to come up and talk to her at a Luchagors gig, then she’s more than happy shooting the breeze.

“Hey-if kids want to come up and ask for my autograph or whatever-I’m cool with that. All I ask for in return is that they buy me a cider and I’ll talk all night with them. It’s funny because we get some people coming to check out the Luchagors who expect us to have a huge team of hired help-but that just isn’t true. All four of us load our equipment into the venue and our show is as in your face as possible. Quite frankly I wouldn’t have it any other way.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

