Happy Birthday Marvel!

11 08 2009

Today (August 11) marks the 70th anniversery of Marvel Comics. My first Marvel Comic was an issue of Transformers that my Ma bought for me to keep me occupied while my brother was at the dentist. Needless to say I loved it. Megatron and Rachet got fused together, Galvatron got his face blown off and went mental (as you do) and I even loved the back-up “Combat Colin and Semi-Autmatic Steve” strips as well as Grimlock answering the letters pages.

When I was 11 I bought an issue of the Punisher and that’s when my life-long passion for comics really kicked off. From there I picked up the Hulk, Avengers, Captain America, Thor and all the rest and while some of the company’s business decisions have pissed me off over the years, Marvel has given me some great memories (Peter David’s huge Hulk run) and some not so great ones (the time when they turned the Punisher black. What the fuck?). So tonight I’ll be raising a glass and wishing them a very happy birthday. Here’s to Marvel.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

