Friday Night

28 04 2009

Dear ‘Dead Horse’ readers,

You’ll all be thriled to learn that last night’s gig went off really fuckin’ well, if I do say so myself. I’m even feeling a faint tinge of pride about it all to be truthful. The Spring and Airbrake was packed, the bands were well looked after and everyone seemed to have fun, which isn’t bad going considering it’s only been a few months since we discussed putting on a gig in the first place.

For those that don’t know, about eight months ago I was approached by the Big List to come on board and contribute a few bits and pieces every month. So far I’m very happy with how it’s all panning out and in January I attended an editorial meeting  down at their offices (a rare thing for me as I never go to these things for anyone else) where we came up with the idea of putting together a monthly local band showcase called the Big Gig.  After some to-ing and fro-ing, we found a venue (the Spring and Airbrake in Belfast) and we now have bands booked up until June. Most of the leg-work is done by the Big List’s Damien and Jon, with me helping out on the booking side of things-essentially giving a hand getting bands who will work well together on a bill and then promoting the fuck out of it. I’ve always been tempted to put gigs on in the past (in fact myself and the Irish Thorriors www.myspace.com/irethorriors) were talking about bringing Valient Thorr to Belfast a while back) and it’s definitely something I enjoy, so expect more in the future.

I must also add, the Big Gig is a non-profit making exercise (coz we’re punk as fuck). The money on the door is split equally between all three bands and we’re only doing this for kicks. Truthfully, for the last year or two I’ve been spending six days a week/52 weeks a year writing and I see this as a great way to blow off some steam. Hopefully future gigs will go as well as this one and some readers can make it down every month.

Some pics from the show can be seen here-  http://www.pavelware.com/

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

